Gold mining has always been at the forefront of Beaconsfield’s significance. Established in the 1850’s, the discovery of gold in 1869 soon saw the township develop into a boom-town, the richest gold-strike in Tasmanian history with 53 mining companies working the gold field. It remained that way until 1914 when the mine closed, only to reopen in 1993 when new technology made recovery of the remaining gold a viable option.
The town, and its gold mine sprang to prominence again on April 25th 2006 when a minor earthquake triggered a rock-fall which killed one miner and trapped two others one thousand metres below ground level. The world watched in awe as a painstaking search & rescue operation located and finally returned the two to the surface. Tod Russell and Brant Webb had survived fourteen days entombed in an area little more than 1.5 metres square. It was a good-news story which put Beaconsfield well and truly back on the map.
When it's not creating world head-lines Beaconsfield is a delightfully sleepy-hollow located on the banks of the Tamar River about a thirty-minute drive north-west of Launceston. Located in the heart of the beautiful Tamar Valley it is the gateway to the Tamar Valley Wine Route featuring 20 great wineries open for tastings and a host of gastronomic delights.
Gold mining apart, Beaconsfield's unique claim to fame is that, in 1953, it became the first Australian town to add fluoride to its water supply.
This Tassie Local snapshot was produced by Footloose Photographic & Media Solutions
Beaconsfield - North East, Tasmania - Tassie Local